h1

Wednesday’s Word – Understanding

29/08/2012

Ken2008 Soho 110

“Adjective – characterized by understanding;  prompted by, based on, or demonstrating comprehension, intelligence, discernment, empathy, or the like: an understanding attitude.” ~ dictionary.com

I thought of this word tonight as I was trying to explain a situation that needed compassion.  Looking at the expressions of others, I could tell who had an understanding heart – compassionate, empathetic, non-judgmental.  In this regard I consider the word Understanding synonymous with Kindness.  We need more people in the world who have an understanding attitude.  Can you think of a time someone had an understanding attitude toward you?

4 comments

  1. Debbie, would you believe I’ve only just “got it”. Sometimes we read, but don’t understand. I read your post this morning and realised – this post is about kindness. Duh! Would you believe one can read the name of a blog and still not understand? Am now looking forward to more of your posts than I did when first signing on. Wonderful blog. We all need kindness.
    I hope you don’t mind me giving a personal example?
    I’d just returned to Johannesburg from Mwinilunga and had nowhere to stay. Because of a dream i’d had a few nights previously in Mwinilunga (Kanyama Kingdom) I made an appointment to see someone from the Cornerstone group. When we sat down to chat, he said, “While I waited for you and prayed, the Lord told me, ‘Be kind to Colleen’ “. That kindness changed my life in so many ways that I am still reaping the benefits to this day.
    Thank you for the Kindnesskronikles as you challenge us to understand, to think, to consider.


    • Thank you for your comments and observations! Thanks for sharing your experience as well. That’s what we all need to see things through the eyes and heart of kindness. 🙂


  2. Hi Debbie,
    It seems to me that understanding is also synonymous with patience–the patience needed to get to know someone’s situation allows another person to have understanding, and I believe that’s where a compassionate and empathetic heart comes from. Many of my memories stem from someone taking the time to listen to me and not criticize my point of view or speak against me, even if later giving advice. I remember feeling “heard” and valued. I felt especially encouraged by a certain mentor in my college days who had an understanding heart and saw something special in others, who would first listen and then encourage you where you were at! I grew as a person because of him and am eternally grateful. I agree with you, wouldn’t we be in a better world with more who embody understanding…

    Thank you for your posts, which I learned about through a friend. In the busy-ness of life, I can sometimes lose sight of what’s truly important in life, but they help bring my focus back to the beauty of life!


    • Hi Rachel,
      Thanks so much for your comments! I would agree with you on patience, as well as the experience of finding someone who believes in you. All too rare these days. How much better would we be for there to be more of it in this world!
      I am glad these posts encourage you; hoping that keeping kindness at the forefront starts a new dialogue…:)
      Debbie



Leave a Reply

