h1

Wednesday’s Word – Tenderness

22/08/2012

CARE

Yes, that’s an old word. Dictionary.com has a form called “Archaic” for one of the definitions as a synonym to Kindness.  Although there are a number of different uses for the word, as a synonym here are the closest choices:

Easily moved to sympathy or compassion; kind: a tender heart.                   

OR

Affectionate or loving; sentimental or amatory: a tender glance.

Having heard this in the “archaic” usage, my mind almost immediately calms, and my heart warms, thinking of ways people have shown tenderness in my life; compassion; tender hearted.  I remember one time in particular when I was going through a rough spot and a co-worker invited me to a family dinner, just to get my mind off the event that occurred.  It worked: by the time I left I felt less anxious, and grateful that someone cared enough to take time out of their schedule to be sympathetic to my situation in that moment.

Was there a time in your life someone showed you tenderness?

Leave a Reply

