h1

Wednesday’s Word – Unselfishness

18/07/2012
Open Hand

Open Hand (Photo credit: AmyZZZ1)

Unselfishness is a synonym of Kindness.  Some of the synonyms for Unselfishness are: altruism, beneficence, benevolence, charity, helpfulness, magnanimity, munificence, openhandedness, philanthropy.

I particularly like the expression of “openhandedness” – signifying whatever I have is yours, that I can give freely, that I can also let go easily.  That is true unselfishness, to me.

What does unselfishness mean to you?

4 comments

  1. Reblogged this on Taking On A Cause by Patsy McCaw-Yager,Englewood, Fl. and commented:
    Unselfish is very much the opposite of time that we live in now!


    • Thanks for reblogging this, Patsy! Yes, unselfishness seems to be less noticed these days but hopefully we can take some of that back by practicing it. 🙂


  2. We read in news or watch on TV about people who have tried to be unselfish or kind or giving and they get slapped down or cheated or deceived. OR SUED!!. Don’t mean to be a naysayer and I really am not at all.

    But then kindness isn’t something you plan to do. I don’t wake up thinking I will be kind today. lol

    But often times before sleeping I think……..I sure wish I had done this or that differently and been a bit kinder… :0


    • Thanks for your comment, and yes, there are people out there who get the wrong end of the stick when trying to help. But there are many more who don’t. Here’s hoping your thoughts at the end of the day turn into the questions in the waking of “how can I help?”. 🙂



Leave a Reply

