h1

Wednesday’s Word – Stick Together

27/06/2012
Waldo Canyon fire, Colorado Springs, CO

Waldo Canyon fire, Colorado Springs, CO (Photo credit: Beverly & Pack)

“When you go out into the world, watch out for traffic, hold hands, and stick together.”  ~  Robert Fulghum “All I Really Need To Know I Learned In Kindergarten”   This popped into my head tonight as I watched a wildfire go totally out of control 60 miles south of where I live.  “Stick Together.”  I have to do something, anything, to help.  So far, 32,000 people have been evacuated from their homes as a result of the Waldo Canyon Fire that is burning in Colorado Springs.  Four shelters have opened. People are opening their homes, their farm land, offering to cook – anything to stick together.

I hate to think what we will see in the coming days – and I know that many people need our help, in some form or another.  If you would like to help, you can donate to the Colorado Red Cross and designate to the fire efforts.  You can also donate to the Salvation Army.  If you are in the area, collect items needed, like shampoo, blankets, etc. for smaller shelters. The Humane Society is opening a temporary shelter and could use donations.  Anything helps!

For more information on the Waldo Canyon and other fires in Colorado, click HERE.

Stick Together….

2 comments

  1. I love stories like this! I am an animal lover and I try to do good deeds. Read my latest article about donating to the local humane society:

    http://caseykurlander.wordpress.com/

    Casey


    • Thanks for your comment! And great article on your blog. In fact, I read a few of them – nice. 🙂



Leave a Reply

