h1

Travel Theme: Secret Places

19/06/2012

I have thought about this for a few days.  Ailsa has challenged her readers from Where’s My Backpack? to post photos of a place that is little known, unknown, or an out of the way place.  I have thought until my head hurt and I couldn’t think anymore until…

I found my Secret Place – two of them, actually.  And they are right under everyone’s nose, not only in Denver but just about any city in the world.  My secret places are the Botanical Gardens and the Zoo.  What makes them “secret” though, is the time of year I go:  I love visiting in the off-seasons, winter and fall usually.  Not many people want to walk in the cold, and most don’t find the Gardens especially inspiring when things are dying or flowers aren’t in full bloom.  Here are some photos I found from my walks through the Gardens and Zoo in Denver.  I hope you find them as enjoyable as I have!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When I’ve traveled, I have visited Boboli Gardens (Florence) in the fall, Parco Sempione (Milan) in the dead of winter, and the Palatine “Museum” (Rome) also in winter.  I have visited Hyde Park (London) just before spring, and the National Museum (Bulgaria) in winter.  What places are secret for you that are in plain view? 🙂

9 comments

  1. Nice one, Debbie, I also love going to visit gardens in the off-season, you can see some lovely sights even without blooms in a well-done garden.


    • Oh and if you’re ever in New York, visit the High Line Park – it’s stunning at any time of year – must do a post on it soon! xxx


      • Hmmm, sounds vaguely familiar but can’t place where it is??


      • It runs north south along the west side of Manhattan from 14th up to 30th. Really lovely.


      • Oh, now I know! I have photos from my last visit, was walking along the bike path down to Battery Park and saw it. Next time I’ll need to walk it!


    • Thanks, Ailsa, glad you liked it! And of course, I forgot to include Central Park! A true oasis in the city…


  2. What a delightful gallery of special places!


  3. […] Travel Theme: Secret Places (thekindnesskronicles.wordpress.com) […]



Leave a Reply

