h1

Travel Theme: Rhythm

12/06/2012

Well, better late than never, and I have a travel related excuse: I did not have the right cable to transfer my photos so that I could post the theme!  I received permission from Where’s My Backpack? to post a little late.

My travels last week took me to New Jersey, which means it also took me to New York City.  A city that has a rhythm all its own.  Here are some photos I took as I rode the ferry across the Hudson river, and as we meandered through the Wall Street area, 9/11 Memorial, and Times Square.  In fact, each area has a rhythm all its own…and the longer I am away from it, the more I miss the rhythms that only New York has.

View of mid-town and lower Manhattan from the NY Waterway Ferry. ~ photo by Debbie Sarcone

Cabs and bike/walking paths co-exist on the West Side Highway. ~ photo by Debbie Sarcone

In the midst of city noise, an oasis of silent remembrance. ~ photo by Debbie Sarcone

First responders from around the world show their support at Ground Zero. ~ photo by Debbie Sarcone

The incomparable energy that is Times Square. ~ photo by Debbie Sarcone

View from the ferry later in the evening. ~ photo by Debbie Sarcone

4 comments

  1. The rhythm of a fun, colorful, exciting, vibrant city. Beautiful images…


  2. Just catching up myself, beautiful post, Debbie, the one of the 9-11 Memorial with the rose is truly beautiful. xxx Ailsa


    • Thank you. This was the first time I had been back to the site since construction started. I was impressed overall with how things were done but really impacted by seeing that rose on the wall, and the part of the wall where there was “xxxx and her unborn child”. That day convinced me how much I miss NYC sometimes…



Leave a Reply

