h1

Fence Or Barricade?

01/05/2012
Mending Wall

Mending Wall (Photo credit: Sanctu)

Good fences make good neighbors.” – taken from Robert Frost’s poem “Mending Wall“.  I thought of this quote as I took a walk through my neighborhood today, an older neighborhood just outside of the city.  You could somewhat tell the age of the residents by the kind of fence around the yard.  Some are the old chain link or chicken fencing, as they used to call it.  This was only used to keep pets and animals in or out, but still gave the ability to interact with the neighbors.  Then there are the “stockade” fences – ever wonder why they call them by that name?  Frost, unknowingly perhaps, addresses this also in his poem when he says “Before I built a wall I’d ask to know  What I was walling in or walling out,  And to whom I was like to give offense.”  The 6 foot “privacy” fences are taking over neighborhoods.  Too bad – I guess I would be asking the same question as the poet…A wood fence  Do you have fences in your neighborhood?  Can you tell what people are saying by the fences (walls) they put up?

2 comments

  1. We live in an old neighborhood with all varieties of fences, from privacy to decorative to my old chain link. I’ve never liked chain link as I think it’s less than beautiful and doesn’t block out the world the way I’d prefer. But your post is a nice reminder…am I just keeping my dog in the yard or am I blocking out my neighbors and opportunities for human interaction?


    • Those are the thoughts that run through my head as I walk the neighborhood, and have the sometimes opportunity to talk with those I see. And of course, I can only have that opportunity if the walls are not so high or so solid as to not see them. 🙂



Leave a Reply

