h1

Sabbath Rest

15/04/2012
The Sabbath Rest

The Sabbath Rest (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It’s Sunday – and for me, that means a day of rest.  I thought of it even more as I walked around the lake on Saturday, and Jewish families were walking after the morning at the synagogue.  A wonderful tradition, although some may not appreciate it right now.

I didn’t always appreciate it; Sunday often became the day I tried to catch up on everything because I was so busy the other days of the week.  Now I realize the importance of taking a day to rest, to enjoy with friends and family, to get away from the usual tasks.

As I was searching for a related article to post on the subject, I found a review of a book written by US Senator Joe Lieberman, entitled “The Gift Of Rest”.  I think you’ll find it interesting – read the review HERE.  I may just have to pick up the book too!

“They know that I observe the Sabbath, and they know what I don’t do on the Sabbath,” he said. “But they don’t know what I do on the Sabbath. It’s a day not just full of prayer, but one that’s so full of fun and pleasure.”

Do you take time to observe some type of Sabbath rest, no matter what the day?

5 comments

  1. Great post!

    I might add, that those who are Jesus’ Disciples, desire to do what He did. Jesus kept the Biblical sabbath, which is the same day the Jews keep–Jesus was a Jew!

    For years I kept the Sunday Sabbath, until I found out that it was a decree from Rome in AD 325 that changed the Sabbath from Saturday to Sunday. After a lot of investigation, I knew I no longer wanted to follow man-made days, but only those that are Biblical, because they are commanded in Scripture. “If you love me…keep My commandments” (John 14:15).

    The restoration of all things is underway!

    Blessings!


  2. […] Sabbath Rest (thekindnesskronicles.wordpress.com) […]


  3. […] This excerpt is from an article published on the Huffington Post (read HERE), a great article on why it is important to let yourself rest, and the overall benefits.  I wrote a similar post on Sabbath Rest and referenced a book review (HERE). […]


  4. […] Sabbath Rest (thekindnesskronicles.wordpress.com) […]



Leave a Reply

