h1

Learn What Matters

12/04/2012

Do what you love, love what you do.

Steve Jobs

Steve Jobs (Photo credit: acaben)

After posting a picture on the Weekly Photo Challenge, I started thinking about what made that photo so special – “Life In A New Season”.  I think everyone (hopefully) reaches a point in their lives where they ask themselves if they have been true to their dreams, their values, their hopes.  For too many, money alone becomes the motivator and that’s the easiest way to burnout.  Instead, find a way to do what you love.  You may not have as many “things” – but you’ll be much happier and less stressed.  Value the things in life that really matter.  No matter what anyone says, you can’t take it with you!  So enjoy life, do what you love, learn the things and people that matter most.  One of the best to bring this concept home was Steve Jobs’ commencement address at Stanford. Take time to read the transcript and/or watch the video.  I think all of us need to keep this in our library for regular viewing.  The kindest advice we can give those preparing to graduate is “do what you love”.  The rest will always follow…

“And the only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking. Don’t settle. As with all matters of the heart, you’ll know when you find it.”  ~Steve Jobs

2 comments

  1. I love this speech – I read it many years ago and the wisdom has stuck with me. I consider the idea of joining the dots whenever I am in conflict between head and heart. Thanks for sharing.


    • Thanks for your comment! I am reminded of this every time I wonder if I should have done something else in life. That first phrase always reminds me that it is better to be happy – in the long run. Like Steve says, we can’t always see how the dots connect but by trusting our instincts on what is right for us, it will usually be the right choice. 🙂



Leave a Reply

