h1

Be Kind Anyway

29/03/2012
Mother-Teresa-collage

Mother-Teresa-collage (Photo credit: Peta-de-Aztlan)

“People are often unreasonable and self-centered. Forgive them anyway.

If you are kind, people may accuse you of ulterior motives. Be kind anyway.

If you are honest, people may cheat you. Be honest anyway.

If you find happiness, people may be jealous. Be happy anyway.

The good you do today may be forgotten tomorrow. Do good anyway.

Give the world the best you have and it may never be enough. Give your best anyway.

For you see, in the end, it is between you and God. It was never between you and them anyway.”

― Mother Teresa

This has been a hard one for me the last couple of days.  I encountered a situation where I wasn’t sure I could keep my composure, unsure that I could resist lashing out.  And then I remembered this quote.  “Be kind anyway.”  Sometimes it’s difficult to remember that part about it being between me and God.  And when I did remember, it was easier to have a kinder response than my original.  Did you ever have those types of encounters? How did you fare?

10 comments

  1. This post really hit home today! This morning I had a phone conversation with a company employee (which I will not name); I was complaining about their customer service. The woman controlled the conversation, listened to my complaint, and defended the company. I became very aggravated, raised my voice and told her I would never use their product again. I hung up on her.

    My blood was boiling and I couldn’t concentrate on the newspaper article I was reading. A light bulb went on and I realized I did not handle the situation very well. It wasn’t the employees fault and the only thing I had accomplished was to ruin her day and mine. I called her back to apologize for the way I ended our conversation. I feel much better and I’m sure she does to.


  2. Isn’t she so wonderful! And you are too for seeing that and celebrating it. 🙂


  3. […] Be Kind Anyway (thekindnesskronicles.wordpress.com) […]


  4. Sometimes it is kindness to stand up for ourselves. For me, being kind doesn’t mean being a doormat. I’ve been thinking about this on a blog post too. Just fyi… http://mbcoudal.com/2011/10/12/why-are-people-mean/


    • Thanks for your comment. I agree that we should not be doormats. I think the two can be different, depending on the situation. And I always believe in forgiveness, because it has nothing to do with releasing the other, it’s more releasing yourself from his or her grip. (I checked out your blog post too – thanks for sharing!)


  5. […] I was inspired by reading this great blog post today Be Kind Anyway. […]


  6. really helpful stuff, on the whole I picture this is worthy of a bookmark, thank you



Leave a Reply

