h1

Kindness Is A Choice

10/02/2012
Road Rage*
Road Rage* (Photo credit: PDXdj)

I was talking with a friend today about how my reactions are not so automatic anymore when dealing with people in “tense” situations.  I laughingly mentioned that since I am writing about kindness every day, it probably is not a good idea that I yell at someone on the road, or say something sarcastic when I feel I am being pressed for an answer I don’t want to give.

So…I take time to think, more than usual.  I step back from situations more readily.  This is not natural for me.  What I have realized in my writing is that I can choose how I react to situations – not every e-mail needs to be answered immediately, nor every phone call returned within the hour.  It’s not easy, but it saves a lot of redress and bandaging of wounds, if you know what I mean.

Does any of this sound familiar?  I encourage you today to think about the choices we have more often than not.  And when we get in the habit of choosing well, we learn more naturally how to be kind.

“Politeness is the art of choosing among one’s real thoughts.”  ~Abel Stevens

2 comments

  1. Road rage is so common that everyone recognizes and/or uses the universal sign language of “flipping the finger”. I have been flipped off many a time for going too slow or trying to change lanes with a blind spot.

    I feel bad and truly sorry for my error. I wish we had a universal sign language sign for “I’m sorry”. It doesn’t do to mouth “I’m sorry” because they think you are ranting at them. We should have a blog on this subject to try to come up with a new sign. We could all pass the new sign via facebook. Hopefully, this would alleviate some of the driving tensions and rage.


    • I think the issue is that we really need to teach people again that there are genuine mistakes, and not everything is an affront to an individual. 🙂



Leave a Reply

