h1

Just Because I Can, Doesn’t Mean I Should

25/01/2012
Nothing Personal. Just Business.

Opinions are like noses…everybody has one (and you thought I was going to say something else, didn’t you!).  So how did we get to a place of shoving our opinions into peoples’ faces, and if they don’t agree, well, they’ll just….you fill in the blanks.  Emotions get in the way.  Tempers flare.  We say things that are probably better left unsaid.

I enjoyed an exchange on facebook yesterday from a friend who was quoting another blog post.  The blog author made this comment:   “the key to using media in our mission may lie as much in our restraint as in our creativity.  Within a matter of seconds, I have the capability to share my opinions about any conceivable topic or issue with the world in a matter of seconds.  But just because I can, doesn’t mean that I should…”

Looking at any of my social networks that I use, I can probably find some pretty good examples of poor restraint. I’ve even done it, not proud to say.  I’ve been guilty at times of letting that “verbal schrapnel” fly. And then wincing, knowing what I just said “didn’t come out like it should”.   Or maybe it did.  I am hopeful that I can continue finding ways to express my opinion in a manner that respects others’ rights to their own.  We don’t have to agree.  But we should try to get along.

Swift to hear, slow to speak, slow to anger.  Let it begin with me…

2 comments

  1. I am one who gives my opinion on things that concern me; whether at work or in social settings. I was shocked when I was given a work evaluation one year. One of the comments on the review was that, “when voicing my opinion on things…it was perceived that I had alternative motives (rocking the boat). Rocking the boat was the furthest from my mind.

    This article is an eye opener for me. I realize, now, that I should have considered restraint in giving my opinion, in some cases. And given my opinion in private meetings with superiors in other cases.

    Thank you for this article. My objective now is to think “first” before volunteering my opinion freely.


    • I’m glad it helped you, Veronica! That’s what we need, is dialogue on subjects like this so people can make wise decisions. I know too well how things can come back to bite you. And the old saying is true – some things are better left unsaid, no matter how “right” one is!



Leave a Reply

